White Truffle Burgers

I am currently doing an internship in a restaurant’s innovation kitchen where I help develop new products for the company. I’ve been having a lot of fun learning the basic way to prepare their menu items and also taste testing current projects. In a few weeks, I’ll be starting on my own project development.

This past week, I made white truffle burgers with I nice salad and some roasted vegetables. This specific lunch was catered for the photography crew that was shooting some products, however I got a small taste.

The burger was a mushroom-based burger that is fried with mozzarella, topped with shaved truffle and frisée as the green. The sauce was a white truffle mayonnaise-based sauce that really elevated the burger.

The roasted vegetables were some of the “scraps” from other dishes, such as beets, carrots, cauliflower, and others. We seasoned them with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper, and baked them off in a hot oven for about 10 minutes.

The salad was made with some mixed greens and a quick Italian vinaigrette that I whipped up right before tossing the salad.

Overall, this was a really fun dish and all the parts tasted really great! It was a nice way for me to learn the basics of current product preparation methods (ie. frying the burger, toasting the bun, tossing salads).

Leave a comment